Independent book shop woes

What a difficult time Independent Booksellers have at this time. With the big box bookstores, Amazon, and other outlets, it is a real conundrum for them when deciding what to place on their shelves. I understand that completely and as an Indie author I sympathize with them.

However. I approached the Independent shop in the town near me and asked if, as a local author, I could place a few books with them on consignment and give them 20% of the profit.

They declined. If it is not from a publishing house of some repute, their customers will not buy it, they claimed.

Strange. In the past month I have sold 30 books from the NAPA auto parts store in Deary, a town a few miles away from me.

I suggest that if you are having trouble getting an outlet for your print books, try putting a stack of them on the counter of your local NAPA store. It may rev up your sales

Leave a Reply

